Friday, May 29, 2020

Book Review - The Archer at Dawn by Swati Teerdhala + Giveaway

Photo Credit - Amazon

Kunal and Esha are working together as rebels on a rescue mission to take back what's theirs. They attend the upcoming Sun Mela to infiltrate Vardaan's court. Kunal pretends to be a dedicated soldier to protect the king. Esha becomes an adviser to Prince Harun and uses her cover to seek allies for their cause. Together Esha and Kunal will try to rescue the lost princess Reha. However, as the Sun Mela begins, secrets and a dangerous force are waiting for them. It causes them to doubt their loyalties to each other and their cause. Will Esha and Kunal be able to succeed in their mission?


I enjoyed reading the second novel as we get a more in-depth view of each character. We see Kunal struggle between his loyalties to the rebels, his solider friends, and to the family, he never knew he had. We see Esha as a complicated woman who wants to avenge her family but, she is sacrificing herself to her old promise. In this book, Kunal and Esha's romantic relationship isn't on display as much as the first book. This book mostly focused on the other characters which I enjoyed. I felt like this book did move a bit slow because I couldn't wait to see what happens but, the ending made it worth it. I can't wait to read the final book!

**Disclosure - I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest opinion. This post may contain affiliate links which means I earn advertising and/or referral fees if you purchase an item through my link. Please note, there will be no extra charges to you. Thank you for your support.**

 

 




Series: Tiger at Midnight (Book 2)
Hardcover: 464 pages
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books (May 26, 2020)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0062869248
ISBN-13: 978-0062869241


Praise for THE TIGER AT MIDNIGHT

“Thrilling, entertaining, and beautifully written, this is one adventure YA fans won’t want to miss.” —Buzzfeed

“[A] vibrantly imagined South Indian–inspired trilogy opener...Teerdhala adds plenty of surprises to her finely limned characters to produce a lush fantasy.” —Publishers Weekly

“Teerdhala’s debut, immersed in Indian fantasy, features two compelling protagonists who must question their loyalties and decide what they’re willing to sacrifice for the chance at a new future. Fast-paced action and a budding romance between emotionally layered characters make this a promising start to a gripping new series.” —ALA Booklist

“[A] lush blend of folklore, fantasy, and romance.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Set in a fantastical South Asia, this combination of romance, action, and magic will appeal to fans of Sabaa Tahir and RenĂ©e Ahdieh. A strong choice for YA fantasy shelves.” —School Library Journal

“Cat-and-mouse maneuvering between assassin Esha and reluctant soldier Kunal will hold you in tantalizing suspense in this searing debut exploring love, loss, and destiny. The Tiger at Midnight is as alluring and fearless as its characters.” —Stacey Lee, award-winning author of Outrun the Moon

“A deliciously twisty cat-and-mouse story that had me racing through the pages. I love stories that challenge their protagonists’ beliefs, and both Esha and Kunal face complex, heart-breaking decisions in their journey to discover both themselves and each other.” —Natasha Ngan, New York Times bestselling author of Girls of Paper and Fire

“Follow Esha and Kunal on a dangerous journey through lush jungles and bustling cities, where the stakes are life and death, and victory comes at a terrible price. Teerdhala has written a masterful debut full of breathless twists and turns and a romance to ignite the senses.” —Axie Oh, author of Rebel Seoul


Romantic intrigue and electric action fill the gripping sequel to The Tiger at Midnight, a world inspired by ancient Indian history and Hindu mythology. Perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir and Victoria Aveyard.

A stolen throne. A lost princess. A rescue mission to take back what’s theirs.

For Kunal and Esha, finally working together as rebels, the upcoming Sun Mela provides the perfect guise for infiltrating King Vardaan’s vicious court. Kunal returns to his role as dedicated soldier, while Esha uses her new role as adviser to Prince Harun to seek allies for their rebel cause. A radical plan is underfoot to rescue Jansa’s long-lost Princess Reha—the key to the throne.

But amidst the Mela games and glittering festivities, much more dangerous forces lie in wait. With the rebel’s entry into Vardaan’s court, a match has been lit, and long-held secrets will force Kunal and Esha to reconsider their loyalties—to their countries and to each other.

Getting into the palace was the easy task; coming out together will be a battle for their lives. In book two of Swati Teerdhala’s epic fantasy trilogy, a kingdom will fall, a new ruler will rise, and all will burn.


You can purchase The Archer at Dawn at the following Retailers:
        

Photo Content from Swati Teerdhala

Swati Teerdhala is the author of The Tiger at Midnight series, which has appeared on both Barnes and Noble and Book Riot’s Most Anticipated Novels lists.

After graduating from the University of Virginia with a BS in finance and BA in history, she tumbled into the marketing side of the technology industry. She’s passionate about many things, including how the right ratio of curd-to-crust in a lemon tart. She currently lives in New York City.
        
WEEK ONE - REVIEWS AND INTERVIEWS
MAY 25th MONDAY Wishful Endings INTERVIEW
MAY 26th TUESDAY BookHounds YA INTERVIEW
MAY 26th TUESDAY Kait Plus Books INTERVIEW
MAY 27th WEDNESDAY JeanBookNerd INTERVIEW 
MAY 28th THURSDAY Nay's Pink Bookshelf REVIEW
MAY 28th THURSDAY Bookish Dream REVIEW 
MAY 29th FRIDAY J.R.'s Book Reviews REVIEW
MAY 29th FRIDAY Two Points of Interest REVIEW 

WEEK TWO - REVIEWS AND INTERVIEWS
JUNE 1st MONDAY A Dream Within A Dream REVIEW
JUNE 2nd TUESDAY Bookishaestha REVIEW 
JUNE 3rd WEDNESDAY Gwendalyn's Books REVIEW 
JUNE 3rd WEDNESDAY Port Jericho REVIEW 
JUNE 4th THURSDAY Reading Adventures of a Book Dragon REVIEW
JUNE 4th THURSDAY The Bookwyrm's Den REVIEW 
JUNE 5th FRIDAY Casia's Corner REVIEW 
JUNE 5th FRIDAY FANFIADDICT REVIEW

*JBN is not responsible for Lost or Damaged Books in your Nerdy Mail Box*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, May 28, 2020

Book Review - The Shadows by Alex North

Photo Credit - Amazon
In the small town of Gritten Park, there lives an unstable teenager named Charlie Crabtree. Every town has at least one kid who has a dark imagination, a sinister smile and is an outcast. People always suspect that they are capable of doing something awful and it was only a matter of when.

Twenty-five years ago, Charlie committed a heinous murder. It was a murder so shocking that it has attracted a fanbase on the darkest corner of the internet. The murder has inspired more than one copycat with countless others following the case closely.

Paul Adams remembers the murder and moved away in hopes of forgetting the murder. Charlie and the victim were Paul's friends. After moving away, Paul has finally gotten his life together. When his mother suffers a fall and takes a turn for the worse, Paul decides to move back home. Paul doesn't want to return home but, he feels duty-bound to his mother to see her.

Shortly after Paul returns home, things start going wrong. Paul learns that there is a copycat murder in the nearby town. His senile mother is getting distressed and mentions that something is in the house. Paul realizes that someone is following him and he is worried that it might be Charlie who hasn't been seen since the day of the murder.

I haven't read the first novel by the author but, this novel can be read as a standalone. I felt like there were a few references made to the previous book that I didn't quite understand. I thought the book was a thrilling and engaging read. The book will keep you up at night wondering if there is something out there in the shadows. I look forward to reading other books by the author.

**Disclosure - I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest opinion. This post may contain affiliate links which means I earn advertising and/or referral fees if you purchase an item through my link. Please note, there will be no extra charges to you. Thank you for your support.**

Wednesday, May 27, 2020

It Cosmetics Blowout Mascara - Good Lash Day (Black)











Left eye left natural; Mascara applied to the right eye
I love how my lashes look when I apply mascara. I feel like it gives my natural lashes an extra oomph! The new mascara is developed with Drybar to bring the benefits of a blowout to lashes. The specially designed wand was inspired by the technology used to create barrel hair brushes. The wand features microsphere to catch all lashes to create instant lift, volume and separates lashes.

Left eye left natural; Mascara applied to the right eye
The formula is enriched with biotin and transparent polymers to enhance the super blank pigment to create a bold look. The mascara promises no clumps or flakes. So, I am going to admit how much of a makeup/skincare junkie I am. I own several IT cosmetics brushes and skincare products but, this was the first time I actually _used_ their product. Yup, I am one of those people that run to go buy something when it comes out and never actually uses it until much later. I was blown away how great my lashes looked. I loved using the mascara and it was very easy to use. The wand capture all my lashes and they didn't clump together. However, I did get a few smudges as the formula did take a bit to dry. Overall, I am a huge fan of the mascara and will definitely be buying a second tube.


Tuesday, May 26, 2020

Bonvivant Botanical Mask Pack Madecassoside + Mugwort





Bonvivant is MemeBox's inhouse brand before they started only making beauty products. I used to love shopping on their page to get curated boxes at great prices. I wish they went back to their old sales model of also selling other brands too.

I bought this mask during one of their many promotions for $2. Since it's an affordable mask, I use it quite often in my everyday mask rotation. The mask is enriched with madecassoside, mulberry, fig, pomegranate, ginkgo nut, mugwort extracts to enrich, soothe, and revitalize stressed skin. The mask fit my face well and was comfortable to wear. My skin was left hydrated and soothe the blemishes I had on my cheek.


Monday, May 25, 2020

Blistex Lip Vibrance Lip Balm









I love lip balm! I don't care if it's pricey, drugstore, or even free. I can fill a bathtub with the amount of lip balm I own. I also tend to lose lip balms so, sometimes I try to avoid spending more than $10 (but, I always end up caving). I have used several different lip balms for Blistex but, this is my first time using one from their vibrance line. 

The lip balm is enriched with shea butter, grapeseed oil, and vitamin E. It leaves lips feeling soft and conditioned. The lip balm has a subtle color with a hint of shimmer to give lips a natural look. I also liked that the lip balm came with a built-in mirror. I didn't need to use it but, I thought it was nifty to have.